Understanding VMware Licensing – Everything You Need to Know

Understanding VMware Licensing Costs – Everything You Need to Know

VMware is a leading virtualization technology provider that offers software and services for cloud computing and data center virtualization. If you plan to use VMware products, you must understand VMware licensing. VMware offers various types of licenses, which can confuse those new to the technology.

This article will provide you with a comprehensive guide to VMware licensing. We’ll cover the different VMware licenses, licensing models, and pricing as well as frequently asked questions about VMware licensing

What Types of VMware Licenses Are There?

VMware offers several types of licenses, including:

  • vSphere Standard.
    This license allows you to manage up to three physical servers with no more than six cores per CPU.
  • vSphere Enterprise.
    This license allows you to manage unlimited physical servers with no more than six cores per CPU.
  • vSphere Enterprise Plus.
    This license allows you to manage unlimited physical servers with up to 12 cores per CPU.
  • VMware Horizon.
    This license is designed for virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) and allows you to manage virtual desktops and applications.
  • VMware Cloud on AWS.
    This license allows you to run VMware software on Amazon Web Services (AWS) cloud infrastructure.

VMware Licensing Models

VMware offers two licensing models: Perpetual and Subscription.

Perpetual licensing.

With perpetual licensing, you purchase the license upfront and own it forever. You pay for support and maintenance, which includes access to updates, patches, and technical support.

Subscription licensing.

With subscription licensing, you pay for the license regularly. You have access to the software and support as long as you continue paying the subscription fee.

VMware Pricing

You can purchase licenses directly from VMware or through a VMware partner. VMware licensing pricing can vary depending on the type of license you need and the licensing model you choose.

For example, the vSphere Standard license costs around $995 per CPU, while the Enterprise Plus license can cost over $4,000 per CPU. The VMware Horizon license costs around $350 per user, and the VMware Cloud on AWS license costs around $10,000 per host per year.

VMware Licensing Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is a CPU socket?
A: A CPU socket is a physical slot on a computer’s motherboard that houses a CPU.

Q: How many CPUs do I need to license?
A: You need to license every physical CPU socket in the server.

Q: Can I transfer my license to another server?
A: You can transfer your license to another server if the new server has the same or fewer CPUs than the original server.

Q: What is the difference between Standard and Enterprise licenses?
A: The Standard license allows you to manage up to three physical servers, while the Enterprise license allows you to manage an unlimited number of physical servers.

VMware licensing can be confusing, but it is essential to understand it before using VMware products.

This article summarized the different licenses, licensing models, pricing, and FAQs about VMware licensing. With this information, you can decide which license is right for you and your organization.

Remember to consult a VMware expert or partner for more detailed information about licensing.


  • Fredrik Filipsson

    Fredrik Filipsson possesses 20 years of experience in Oracle license management. Having worked at Oracle for 9 years, he gained an additional 11 years of expertise in Oracle license consulting projects. Fredrik has provided assistance to over 150 organizations worldwide, ranging in size and tackling various Oracle licensing challenges, including Licensing Assessments, Oracle audits, Oracle ULAs, and more.